TO: ALL BUILDING DIVISION PERSONNEL

FROM: DOUG WISE
BUILDING DIVISION DIRECTOR
PREPARED BY: BUILDING DIVISION
SUBJECT: OWNER  BUILDER PERMITS & CONTRACTING
EXEMPTIONS
PPM #: PB-0-024
ISSUE DATE EFFECTIVE DATE
July 15, 2019 March 20, 2024
PURPOSE:

To establish procedures for issuing Owner/Builder and other permits to those parties cited as exempt
under law to contracting requirements

UPDATES:

Future updates to this PPM are the responsibility of the Director of the Building Division, Deputy
Building Official, Assistant Deputy Building Official, or Codes Product & Training Supervisor,
under the authority of the Director of the Building Division.

AUTHORITY:

Florida Statutes Chapter 489.103, Palm Beach County Amendments to the Florida Building Code,
Section 105.1

POLICY:

Applicants applying for an Owner/Builder permit under the contracting exemptions permitted by
Florida Statutes Chapter 489 shall comply with the qualifications cited therein and shall personally
appear at the Building Division to sign the permit application, and complete the Owner Builder
Disclosure Statement as prescribed by the statute. The scope of work for a permit issued to an Owner
Builder is limited to the following:

1) Building or improving farm buildings or one-family or two-family residences on
such property for the occupancy or use of such owners and not offered for sale or
lease within 1 year after completion of same,

2) Building or improving commercial buildings, at a cost not to exceed $75.,000, on such
property for the occupancy or use of such owners and not offered for sale or lease,
within 1 year after completion of same, or
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4)

Repairing or replacing wood shakes or asphalt or fiberglass shingles on one-family,
two-family, or three-family residences for the occupancy or use of such owner or
tenant of the owner and not offered for sale within 1 year after completion of the work
and when the property has been damaged by natural causes from an event recognized
as an emergency situation designated by executive order issued by the Governor
declaring the existence of a state of emergency as a result and consequence of a serious
threat posed to the public health, safety, and property in this state, or

Completing the requirements of a building permit, where the contractor listed on the
permit substantially completed the project as determined by the local permitting
agency, for a one-family or two-family residence, townhome, or an accessory structure
of a one-family or two-family residence or townhome or an individual residential
condominium unit or cooperative unit. Prior to qualifying for the exemption, the
owner must receive approval from the local permitting agency, and the local
permitting agency must determine that the contractor listed on the permit
substantially completed the project. An owner who qualifies for the exemption under
this subparagraph is not required to occupy the dwelling or unit for at least 1 year after
the completion of the project.

PROCEDURE:

Prior to issuance of an Owner Builder permit, the property owner shall supply evidence of property
ownership, if not currently listed on the Property Appraiser's website, and shall submit suitable photo
identification (driver's license, passport, etc.) to authenticate the legitimacy of the permit application.
A Permit Technician shall notarize the permit application, regardless of valuation or permit type. The
Permit Technician shall require the owner to execute a copy of the Owner Builder Disclosure
Statement form (PB-0-024 Form 100), notarize the form, and explain their responsibilities, including
the following specific legal provisions of the statutory exemption:

D

2)

3)

An Owner Builder must personally provide direct on site supervision of the work and
may not hire an unlicensed person to act as my contractor or to supervise persons
working on my building or residence,

It is the Owner Builder's responsibility to ensure that the persons whom they employ
have the licenses required by law and by county or municipal ordinance, and

Any person working who is not licensed must work under the direct supervision and
must be employed by the Owner Builder, which means that he/she must comply with
laws requiring the withholding of federal income tax and social security contributions
under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) and must provide workers'
compensation for the employee. The Permit Technician performing application review
shall check the permitting database for activities that may indicate the Owner Builder
1s acting as a contractor, by having pulled Owner Builder permits on other property,
whose completion was less than a year prior to the date of the current application.
Prior to issuance of an owner builder permit the building official may elect to require
the applicant to take and pass a test proving that the owner has a complete understanding
of the owner’s obligations under the law and demonstrating the required proficiency to
successfully complete the project in compliance with all applicable regulations.
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Supersession History:

. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 09/28/88

. PPM# PB-0-024, effective 10/01/88
. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 04/98

. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 12/00

. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 01/01

. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 03/26/12

. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 04/03/12

. PPM# PB-0-024, issued 7/19

. PPM# PB-0-024, effective 3/20/24
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DOUG WISE
BUILDING DIVISION DIRECTOR

PB-0-024/Page 3 of 3



PLANNING, ZONING AND BUILDING DEPARTMENT PR#:

BUILDING DIVISION PERMIT CENTER 2300 N. Jog Rd. West Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: www.pbcgov.com/pzb/building Tel:(561) 233-5100 Fax:(561) 233-5020

OWNER/BUILDER AFFIDAVIT & DISCLOSURE STATEMENT FORM

The provisions of Florida Statutes Chapter 489.103(7) require construction to be done by licensed contractors.
You have applied for a permit under an exemption to that law that allows you, as the owner of your property, to
act as your own contractor, even though you do not have a license. You may build or improve a one-family or
two-family residence or a farm outbuilding, or build or improve a commercial building at a cost of $75,000 or less
in value, within any 12-month period, provided the residence or farm outbuilding is for your own use and
occupancy. It may not be built for sale or lease. The construction must be performed according to Building
Codes and Zoning Regulations. It is your responsibility to make sure that people employed by you have licenses,
workers’ compensation, and insurance required by State law and by County licensing ordinances. You must
perform, or supervise the construction yourself, and possess technical knowledqge to personally
supervise all permitted work, if not performed by a licensed contractor.

Therefore, as the Owner/Builder:

1. | understand that state law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor and | have applied for an
owner-builder permit under an exemption from the law. The exemption specifies that|, as the owner of the property
listed in this affidavit, may act as my own contractor with certain restrictions even though | do not have a license.

2. lunderstand that building permits are not required to be signed by a property owner unless he or she is responsible
for the construction and is not hiring a licensed contractor to assume responsibility.

3. | understand that, as an owner-builder, | am the responsible party of record on a permit. | understand that | may
protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor and having the permit filed in his or her
name instead of my own name. | also understand that a contractor is required by law to be licensed in Florida and
to list his or her license numbers on permits and contracts.

4. | understand that | may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding. | may also
build or improve a commercial building if the costs do not exceed $75,000. The building or residence must be for
my own use or occupancy. It may not be built or substantially improved for sale or lease, unless | am completing
the requirements of a building permit where the contractor listed on the permit substantially completed
the project. If a building or residence that | have built or substantially improved myself is sold or leased within 1
year after the construction is complete, the law will presume that | built or substantially improved it for sale or lease,
which violates the exemption.

5. lunderstand that, as the owner-builder, | must provide direct, onsite supervision of the construction.

6. l'understand that | may not hire an unlicensed person to act as my contractor or to supervise persons working on
my building or residence. It is my responsibility to ensure that the persons whom | employ have the licenses
required by law and by county or municipal ordinance.

7. lunderstand that it is a frequent practice of unlicensed persons to have the property owner obtain an owner-builder
permit that erroneously implies that the property owner is providing his or her own labor and materials. [, as an
owner-builder, may be held liable and subjected to serious financial risk for any injuries sustained by an unlicensed
person or his or her employees while working on my property. My homeowner's insurance may not provide
coverage for those injuries. | am willfully acting as an owner-builder and am aware of the limits of my insurance
coverage for injuries to workers on my property.

8. I_ understand that | may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed contractor who is not
Ilcens_,ed to perform the work being done. Any person working on my building who is not licensed must work under
my direct supervision and must be employed by me, which means that | must comply with laws requiring the
withholding of federal income tax and social security contributions under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act

(FICA) and m.ust provide workers' compensation for the employee. | understand that my failure to follow these
laws may subject me to serious financial risk.

Revised 07/02/2019
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9. | agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, | will abide by
all applicable laws and requirements that govern owner-builders as well as employers. | also understand that the
construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations.

10. | understand that | may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an employer from the Internal
Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the Florida Department of Financial Services,
and the Florida Department of Revenue. | also understand that | may contact the Florida Construction Industry
Licensing Board at (850) 487-1395 or http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pro/cilb/ for more information about
state licensed contractors, or the Palm Beach County Construction Industry Licensing Board at (561) 233-5525 or
http://discover.pbcgov.org/pzb/contractors/Pages/Construction-Industry-Licensing-Board.aspx for more
information about county registered contractors.

11. | am aware of, and consent to an owner-builder building permit applied for in my name and understand that | am
the party legally and financially responsible for the proposed construction activity at the following address: __

12. | agree to notify the Palm Beach County Building Division immediately of any additions, deletions, or changes to
any of the information that | have provided on this disclosure.

Licensed contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public. If you contract with a person who does not
have a license, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and Department of Business and Professional Regulation
may be unable to assist you with any financial loss that you sustain as a result of a complaint. Your only remedy against
an unlicensed contractor may be in civil court. It is also important for you to understand that, if an unlicensed contractor
or employee of an individual or firm is injured while working on your property, you may be held liable for damages. If
you obtain an owner-builder permit and wish to hire a licensed contractor, you will be responsible for verifying whether
the contractor is properly licensed and the status of the contractor’s workers' compensation coverage.

Important Notice: Do not sign this form or the accompanying permit application before you appear in person
at the Building Division permit counter. County staff must notarize these forms for you. Please bring a copy
of your driver’s license or other government issued picture ID with you.

Pursuant to Florida Law, Chapter 489 Part I, property owners qualified to act as their own contractor must
personally appear at the building department and sign the permit application, and this affidavit.

OWNER/BUILDER AFFIDAVIT & DISCLOSURE STATEMENT FORM

|, the owner of the property located at:

Street Address , do hereby certify that |
have read the Owner/Builder Affidavit & Disclosure Statement Form, and | am aware of my responsibilities and liabilities
for construction work on the above-described property. | do hereby agree to abide by each of the above statements.
| further understand that any falsification of the above statements constitutes fraud and may result in revocation of this
permit.

Owner (signature) Owner (print)

State of Florida
County of Palm Beach

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me this day of 20__, by

(Name of Person Acknowledging)

(Signature of Notary Public — State of Florida) (Print, Type or Stamp Commissioned Name of
Notary Public)

Personally Known or Produced Identification

Type of Identification Produced
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